Thursday, August 11, 2011

Is it more socially acceptable to be proud of one's ignorance in the USA than in other rich nations?

Every country, rich and poor, has its ignorant people, those who are militantly anti-education, hate people of different backgrounds even though they may know nothing of those backgrounds, fall for religious charlatans who take their hard-earned money, boast of not being able to find another country on a map, know nothing of the outside world but feel fit to weigh in on international issues, engorge their bodies with fattening food yet can't figure out why they put on weight, hate reading, are prone to violence when they don't get their way..........but here is my question, even though other industrialized nations have the exact same people as I described above, do you feel that there is less of a stigma attached to such behavior in the United States, the same, or more?

No comments:

Post a Comment